Blog Stats
  • Posts - 31
  • Articles - 0
  • Comments - 22
  • Trackbacks - 3


New MS Certifications (and more acronyms to learn)

Microsoft recently published changes to their certifications. The entire program has been revamped, though if you are already certified, your credentials are still considered valid. New products (e.g. SQL Server 2005) will follow the new framework for certification.

The first step for DBAs/DB Developers is MCTS (Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist): SQL Server 2005. To get this credential, you need to pass one exam: "Exam 70–431: TS: Microsoft SQL Server 2005 - Implementation and Maintenance". The next credential available is MCITP (Microsoft Certified IT Professional). These come in three flavors: Database Developer, Database Administrator and Business Intelligence Developer. Each of these requires you to pass two more exams. There's no overlap between these, so if you are an overachiever and want lots of letters behind your name, you can take a total of seven SQL Server-related tests.

Current MCDBAs are offered an upgrade path to MCITP DBA. They are still required to take the first level exam (70-431). This is followed by "Exam 70–447: UPGRADE: MCDBA Skills to MCITP Database Administrator by Using Microsoft SQL Server 2005."

All of the test are supposed to be available in "early 2006." Likewise most of the courses and study materials won't be available until next year either. The beta for 70-431 is scheduled to be released in November.


# re: New MS Certifications (and more acronyms to learn)

Gravatar Wouldn't it be nice if they actually launched the product BEFORE they launch the Cert? 10/31/2005 6:41 AM | Brett

Comments have been closed on this topic.


Copyright © Denise McInerney